BOOKS ON ARCHITECTURE
The Livre d’architecture was reissued in 1640 by Melchior Tavernier. For the occasion he engraved a new title page with his new address, still in “l’île du Palais” but at the sign of the “Sphère Royale” where he had been set up since 1638, and with a list of titles which included his new abilities : henceforth he proclaimed himself “hydrograph” and printer to the king “for geographical maps”. The dedication to the king and the text addressed “to lovers of architecture” were also rewritten and freshened with new border decorations and initials. The copy at the Binha has no explanatory leaves preceeding the plates.
Frédérique Lemerle Centre national de la recherche scientifique,
Y. Pauwels, "Francine, Collot, Barbet : recueils de modèles ou exercices de style ?", J.-P. Garric, É. d’Orgeix & E. Thibault (ed.), Le livre et l’architecte, Wavre, Mardaga, 2011, pp. 167-171.