BOOKS ON ARCHITECTURE
De l’Orme died in 1570, three years after his Premier tome
appeared. In 1576 the booksellers Jérôme de Marnef and
Guillaume Cavellat (whose interest in architecture was guaranteed by
the publication in 1564 and 1568 of Jean Bullant’s Reigle)
came out with a new edition of this work, with a new title (L’architecture)
justified by the obvious fact that there would not be a second volume.
This title was to be repeated in all the subsequent editions. The work
presents only one modification, that of the addition of an engraved
portrait of Philibert on the back of the title page. The introductory
notes are the same ; missing at the end is the "Avertissement au
lecteur" with the errata, which were not corrected, but
it does not appear in all the 1567 copies.
Yves Pauwels (Centre d’études supérieures
de la Renaissance, Tours) – 2006
J.-M. Pérouse de Montclos, Introduction à Philibert De l’Orme, Traités d’architecture, Paris, Laget, 1988, pp. 14-15.
J.-M. Pérouse de Montclos, Philibert De l’Orme Architecte du roi (1514-1570), Paris, Mengès, 2000.
P. Renouard, Imprimeurs et libraires parisiens du XVIe siècle, Fascicule Cavellat, Marnef et Cavellat, Paris, Bibliothèque nationale, 1986, n° 337.