Database of texts and images
Of Gallo-Roman antiquities (15th-17th centuries)


Ville Arles (Bouches-du-Rhône, 13)
Subject(s) Theatre
Author(s) Zinzerling, Just
  Dutch scholar (1590-1618)
Resource type Printed book
Date 1616
References Zinzerling 1627, pp. 183-184

Bernard 1859, pp. 1-14 ; Constans 1921, pp. 278-297 ; Gros 1996, pp. 292-293 ; Lemerle 2005, pp. 89-90 ; Rothé/Heijmans 2008, pp. 287-301


The college of Arles was built on the site of the theatre's stage; in 1664, it was replaced by the Convent of the Miséricorde; the theatre was not identified as such until the second half of the 17th century


p align="justify">« Porticus duo structuræ Romanæ pro Carmelitarum Cœnobium. […]In collegio duæ stant columnæ opus Romanorum, & saxum prægrande, quod alii credunt aram illam latam fuisse. Non procul hinc abest turris in qua Dianæ supplicarunt prisci. Et turris insuper alia, ad quam vsque eluvies aquarum pertigit olim, vt interi[184]tum vrbis metuerint incolæ. Sub turri hac 5. ostenduntur portæ triumphales Romanorum, nunc obturatæ. »
= “There are two Roman porticoes near the Carmelite Convent. […] In the college, there are two columns, works of Romans, and a large stone that is reported to have been used as an altar. Not far is the tower where the people prayed to Diana. And above this, another tower, which, once, the water-level rose right up to, causing the inhabitants to fear that their town would be ruined. Below the tower, one can see five Roman triumphal gates, today bricked up.”