Database of texts and images
Of Gallo-Roman antiquities (15th-17th centuries)


Ville Lyon (Rhône, 69)
Subject(s) Confederate sanctuary
Author(s) Zinzerling, Just
  Dutch scholar (1590-1618)
Resource type Printed book
Date 1616
References Zinzerling 1616, pp. 288, 292
Bibliography Bernard 1859, pp. 1-14 ; Lemerle 2005, pp. 32-33, 111-112
Remarks Zinzerling stayed in France from 1612 to 1616

« Hodie in hujus Monasterii templo, antiquæ magnificentiæ fortassis non respondente, visuntur tamen quatuor columnæ prægrandes ex lapide & marmore fusili, multis superstites ex antiquo Planci opere creditæ […]. [292] Bonam partem tanti operis ex ruderibus rempli Augsutalis ædificatam cerdibile est. »
= “The church of this monastery is perhaps not as splendid today as it once was; one can nevertheless see four huge columns made using molten stone and marble that are believed to come from an ancient edifice built by Plancius […]. It is thought that this edifice was in large part constructed with stones taken from the ruined Temple of Augustus.”